top of page
Euphony Logo.PNG


Everything starts with an "E" - 1992 - 1994

"I'm needing a name for my new band and it needs to start with an E" - Mike Greig 

"Call it Euphony, it means pleasing and ecstatic sound or something like that." Richard Skinner 


Euphony came to life in the unassuming Scottish town of Kirriemuir thanks to the creative spirit of school friends Mike Greig and Scott McAuley. Kirriemuir is known for being the birthplace of J.M Barie, the author of Peter Pan, and for its links to Bon Scott, the original singer of ACDC. But for Euphony, the town's enchanting aura runs deep in their veins and echoes through their music.

Looking back, Mike and Scott fondly recall their early years spent tinkering with gear like Cubase 1 on the Atari ST, Roland W30 Samplers, and learning the ropes of electronic music production without accidentally blowing up a Roland D5. These experiences have undoubtedly shaped the producers they are today, as they continue to create music that resonates with fans around the world.

Euphony's sound is a vibrant fusion of Italian Piano House, early Trance, and hard rave sounds from the likes of NJoi, Qtex, and the Prodigy. Their original compositions showcase a range of emotions and are a true reflection of their influences and passions.



Through Time And Space 1994 - 1997

In 1994, Scott decided to pursue different musical paths, leaving Mike to continue the Euphony project with fellow schoolmate Chris McKean, also known as Keno The Stunt Guitarist. The duo entered Seagate Recording Studios in Dundee to create a demo tape, and from that session emerged three stunning tracks: "Drum Nature", "Anthem", and "Feeling". The tracks earned them a well-deserved contract with Clubscene Records, an esteemed label that featured Ultra Sonic and The Rhythmic State.


With the help of engineer Andy Haldane at Apollo Studios in Glasgow, "Drum Nature" was re-recorded with enchanting vocals by Dundee's very own Jenny Henderson, and "Anthem" was given lyrical magic by the band's original MC Sensation, Paul Ross. Euphony went on to release two singles with Clubscene Records, the aforementioned "Drum Nature" and "Time & Space". They performed countless live shows throughout Scotland, Northern Ireland, and North East/West England, with dancers Matt Harvey, Roy Lamb, and David Ferguson, whose aerial stunts and gravity-defying skills wowed audiences.


Through thick and thin, DJ Davie G (Davie Gardener) provided Euphony with unwavering support and encouragement. He ignited the pyrotechnics that even took out a few bouncers and truly kept the vibe alive. 

R.I.P Davie G and thank you for everything. 

Clubscene Playlist


1997 - 2000


Picture from left to right:

Scott McFarlane - Mike Greig - Alexa Keen


In the late 90s, Euphony saw some changes with singer-songwriter Scott MacFarlane and vocalist Alexa Keen joining the band. With the changing music scene in Scotland, the band decided to shift towards a more commercial Euro Dance sound. But fate had other plans, and they stumbled upon a track that would become a Happy Hardcore anthem, "Dancing In The Rain".

However, due to restrictions within her pop project, vocalist Alexa Keen couldn't be credited on the vinyl release of Dancing In The Rain and was code-named "Tania". The band recorded "Dancing In The Rain" and "Meaning of Life" at ESL Recordings in Dundee under the direction of Mark Tinley and signed with UK Dance, the genre-defining Happy Hardcore label in the UK.

"Dancing In The Rain" gained popularity with massive support from Force & Styles and DJ Dougal, featuring in the classic Bonkers 3 compilation "A Journey Into Madness." The track was further supported by local DJ and radio jock George Bowie in Scotland, who featured it as one of his all-time anthems on his popular GBX Experience shows. In 2019, it was covered by GBX, Sparkos & Outforce with the vocal talents of Imogen.

The band's second release on UK Dance was the Euro Dance track, "Space Invader," which received the remix treatment from the Lord of Hardcore himself, Scott Brown, and the late John Horrocks as Quest.

"Meaning of Life" the B-side, contained a hint of the band's original new direction, fusing male and female vocals with soaring guitar lines from Chris McKean, accompanied by the distorted MC'ing from the band's new MC, the late Lenny B (Kenny Breen R.I.P).

In 2000, Mike Greig disbanded Euphony and continued as a solo artist/producer under the same name. However, he formed a new writing partnership with Alex Taylor (DJ Storm) in 2001 to create Storm & Euphony.

UK Dance Playlist
bottom of page